Pool Slides: The Slippery Slope

My mind’s telling me no. But my feet, my feet are telling me yes. 

Bla, bla, bla, the 90s are back in a big way, yadda, yadda. BUT, while I’ve been repping scrunchies, plaid shirts and double denim for a while now, there’s a shoe rearing its significantly ugly head on the horizon of summer that I just haven’t been able to bring myself to tackle. Yet. At first I didn’t want to. Then I kind of did. Now, I don’t know which pair to buy. I’m talking about the ugliest shoes out there right now: Pool Slides.

adilette slides
Adidas Adilette Slides @ £27
Glossy, sleek, classic colours, branded – on the surface, horrendous. ‘How many wannabe soccer hooligans have padded around the fag-butt strewn beaches of Marbs wearing the likes of these?’,  BW wonders. But only for a second, until he realises that the answer is of course, many, (and yet still wants a pair).
nike benassi
Nike Benassi Slides @ £16
We don’t exactly know what to call this print, all we know is that there was a hell of a lot of it in the 80s. The American, jazzy teen-flick-soundtracked by a dire Hall & Oates remix kinds of 80s, not the grey, British, ‘There’s blood on your hands, Maggie!’ kind of 80s. It makes us relatively happy and it’ll make your feet happy, too.
]
Topshop FANG Slides @ £48
The kind of knowing faux-glamour that makes us want to don a cheap pair of aviators and book the next Wowcher! deal to St Tropez. If only one would come up.

Leave a comment